Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Thornhill Avenue, Belper, Derbyshire DE56 1SH

Tel: 01773 822771


Herbert Strutt Primary School

We Care, Challenge, Achieve and Open Minds

School Council


The School council is one of the ways that children can become leaders at our school. An annual "Hustings" is held in September, to elect the chair and secretary. There is a class council every week, the members were voted on by their class; the School Council meets with Mr Banks, every third week. Suggestion boxes are in every class for children to write their ideas down and these are emptied and discussed at class councils, with ideas taken to the full meeting by the class chair and secretary.     

Members of the School Council 2017/18 are:

Year 1: Maisie and Isla

Year 2: Imogen and Grace

Year 3: Lilia and Finley

Year 4: Sienna and Tilly

Year 5: Tim and Callum

Year 6: Max and Thomas                                                                                                                                                                      

This year the School Council Chair is Max (Y6) and the Secretary is Thomas (Y6)

They were chosen as they received the most votes after the "Hustings" in assembly, where various Y6 children stood for election.

Our Achievements and Aims for 2017/18:

  • We have re-opened the Gold Area 
  • We would like more non-sporty and sporty clubs
  • We would like the climbing equipment in KS1 to be fixed
  • We would like water fountains on the wall in both playgrounds
  • We would like to change the bamboo item in KS1 and have a sandpit in its place with a fence, and for its cover to be a road map to play on


Last update: 2017-12-06